Is Angel Hair Pasta Vegan?

Some of the links on this page are affiliate links, which means that Buzzy Kitchen earns commission from purchases made – at absolutely no extra cost to you. Thank you so much for supporting Buzzy Kitchen!

Angel hair pasta, given the name because of how thin, fine and delicate it is, is just one type of pasta out of what is believed to be more than six hundred different varieties. And yes, you did read that right. I said 600 – six hundred – different varieties of pasta. But let’s just focus on one of them right now. Let’s answer your question: Is angel hair pasta vegan?

Is Angel Hair Pasta Vegan?

The easy answer (and not necessarily the correct one) is:

No, angel hair pasta is not vegan.

Traditionally, pasta, no matter the type or variety, is made from flour and eggs, plus as a few other ingredients – water, herbs and spices, etc.

Because of the eggs, pasta is not vegan-friendly. Again, traditionally, vegans do not eat eggs because they are an animal byproduct.

In this day and age, however, veganism and vegetarianism is a hot topic, with more and more people choosing to adopt the dietary change. Because of this, pasta producers are making vegan and vegetarian-friendly versions of pasta and many other foods.

Traditional angel hair pasta is not vegan.

Traditional pasta is not vegan.

But you can buy vegan-friendly pasta products, which have been adapted to cut out the ingredients that vegans wouldn’t eat.

Is Angel Hair Pasta Vegan Friendly?

If you aren’t sure whether or not your angel hair pasta is vegan-friendly, take a look at the packaging. It will clearly state “suitable for vegans/vegetarians”, or something similar, if the food is safe for vegans and/or vegetarians.

If the packaging doesn’t state “suitable for vegans/vegetarians” (or something to that effect), you should probably assume that your angel hair pasta (or other pasta type) is not vegan-friendly.

Just to make doubly sure, take a peek at the ingredient list. If eggs have been used in the production of your pasta, it will state that on the packaging, in the ingredient list.

Not only will people avoid egg products because of the vegan/vegetarian aspect, they will also avoid egg products because of allergies. Egg ingredients must be listed on all food products. If you see them listed, you will know that your pasta (or other food product) is not suitable for vegans to eat.

Some products can be egg-free, but made in a manufacturing facility where eggs are also handled or used in the production of food. In cases like this, the product might not be classed as vegan-friendly because of the risk of cross-contamination. Again, this will usually be mentioned on the label or website.

Where to Buy Vegan Angel Hair Pasta in the UK

There are a few vegan angel hair pasta brands available in the UK. These include:

Dreamfields Angel Hair Pasta | Amazon

This one is vegan and vegetarian-friendly, Non-GMO Project Verified & Kosher-Certified.

Garofalo Angel Hair Pasta | Ocado

This angel hair pasta is also vegan and vegetarian-friendly & Kosher safe.

Is Barilla Angel Hair Pasta Vegan?

Yes, Barilla angel hair pasta is vegan and vegetarian-friendly. 

The ingredient list is small and simple: 

“Semolina (Wheat), Durum Wheat Flour, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Iron (Ferrous Sulfate), Vitamin B1 (Thiamine Mononitrate), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Folic Acid.”


As you can see, there are no ingredients that would cause Barilla angel hair pasta to be vegan unfriendly! 

Barilla Angel Hair Pasta 500g | Amazon
Barilla Angel Hair Pasta 500g
Made in Italy

Vegan & Vegetarian-Friendly

Not only that, the Barilla website states that the angel hair pasta is vegan. Not only that, the pasta is also soy-free, lactose-free, shellfish-free, fish-free, peanut-free and tree nut-free. It is also made with non-GMO ingredients, and enriched with B vitamins and iron. 

And it gets better: Barilla angel hair pasta cooks in 4 to 5 minutes, which makes it perfect for dinner in a rush! 

Is Homemade Angel Hair Pasta Vegan?

If the pasta has been made using eggs, or other ingredients not suitable for vegans, it will not be vegan-friendly. Most recipes for angel hair pasta require eggs, although there are vegan-friendly versions available.

Simple modifications can switch your homemade pasta recipe from non-vegan-friendly to vegan-friendly relatively easily.

*All products, prices & information correct at time of writing.

By Buzzy Kitchen

Lovers of food, owners of opinions, pleased to share!